Ms. Debbie Juniewicz
Cox Publications
Dayton Daily News, Springfield & Middletown Newspapers


Mr. David Fong
Troy Daily News, Piqua Daily Call, Sidney Daily Call
Group Sports Editor

In 1991, the Ohio High School Athletic Association initiated a program entitled the Sportsmanship, Ethics, and Integrity Program.  One aspect of the program was to honor those special individuals who bring great recognition to our high schools, coaches, and especially, our athletes through media's different forms.  Each of Ohio's six athletic districts was asked to put a process in place to gather nominations of individuals who fit this special category.  Our 2017 Media Award Recipients are Mr. Marc Pendleton and Mr. Rick Cassano.

Ms Debbie Juniewicz
is a sports writer for Cox Publications (Dayton Daily News, Springfield, and Middletown newspapers).  Her regular beats are wrestling, swimming, volleyball, tennis, and gymnastics.  She has won numerous awards while covering high school sports:  State Award of Excellence while covering bowling, Miami Valley Wrestling Association's Reporter of the Year, and the Ohio Prep Writers' Association's second place finish in the Game Story of the Year.  She presently serves as a liaison between the working media and the OHSAA.  Debbie is married to husband Mike, and has three children:  Corey, Alex, and Molly.

Mr. David Fong presently serves as the Group Sports Editor for the Troy Daily News, Piqua Daily Call, and Sidney Daily Call.  His responsibility is to cover sports in twenty-five high schools.  He has been awarded numerous special honors:  sixty AP awards since 1996.  He published a book last year entitled Ohio's Troy vs. Piqua Football Rivalry.  He has covered every Troy vs. Piqua football game since 1996.  David has covered numerous State Championships.  He is married to wife, Michelle, and has two children, Sophie and Max.

Since the inception of this award, the following individuals have been honored as Media Service Recipients by the members of the Southwest District Athletic Board:

1997-98:        Ted Landis, Brookville Star; Warren Johnson, WPFB Radio, Middletown
1998-99:        Dave Long, Dayton Daily News; Duane Bachman, WPTW Radio, Piqua
1999-2000:    Don McDermott, Greenville Daily; Dave Schutte, Cincinnati Enquirer
2000-2001:    Mike Hartsock, WHIO TV, Dayton; Mark Huber, Wilmington News
2001-2002:    Kert Radel, WMOH Radio, Hamilton; Bill Liermann, WSWO Radio, Wilmington
2002-2003:    Jack Gordan, WPFB Radio, Middletown; Joe Neves, WPTW, Piqua
2003-2004:    Tom Gambel, DSA Sports, Cincinnati; John Popovich, WCPO Radio, Cincinnati
2004-2005:    Omar Williams, WHIO-TV, Retired; Ron Jackson, Dayton Daily News; Guy Fogle, WHIO TV
2005-2006:    Roger Barger, WKFI WSWO Sabina; Tom Groeschen, Cincinnati Enquirer
2006-2007:    Tom Archdeacon, Dayton Daily News; Ken Barhorst, Sidney Daily News
2007-2008:    Sonny Fulks, WPTW,; Jerry Nardiello, Middletown Journal
2008-2009:    Enos Pennington, ; Richard Crawford, The Clermont Suns Newspaper
2009-2010:    Chick Ludwig; Jack Pohl, WDTN-Channel 2 Sports Director.
2010-2011:    Mike Dyer, Cincinnati Enquirer; Ron Nunnari, Englewood Independent
2011-2012:    Scott Ward, WTGR, Greenville; Jack Kramer,
2012-2013:    Dirk Allen; George Vogel
2013-2014:    Mark Slaughter, WCPO-Channel 9; Rob Kiser, Piqua Daily Call.
2014-2015:    Matt Hammond, Bellefontaine Examiner; Eric Franz, J.J. Huddle
2015-2016:    Marc Pendleton, Dayton Daily News; Rick Cassano, Cox Media Group
2016-2017:    Debbie Juniewicz, Cox Publications (Dayton Daily News, Springfield & Middletown newspapers); David Fong, Troy Daily News, Piqua Daily Call, Sidney Daily Call